Newark 302 368 4900
Middletown 302 376 6510
Claymont 302 792 2300
New Castle 302 999 9400

Customer Reviews

Benchmark Transmission invites you to read the customer reviews & check rating scores for the repairs and services done at our 4 Delaware family-owned transmission repair shops in Newark, New Castle, Middletown, and Claymont. We hope that when "best auto shops near me" or "best auto mechanics near me" is searched on websites like Google, Yahoo, or Yelp, Benchmark Transmission will be found to have the best customer ratings and reviews than any of the other transmission repair shops in Delaware.Please take a moment and write a Google review of our Delaware transmission shop. Please feel free to request a price quote or schedule an appointment at any time using our online forms.
Share Review
  • Mr. Dante Principe Jr.,Two weeks ago, I took my 98 VW Golf to the Smith VW dealer for a non-transmission related problem. Upon completion of that work, the dealer told me that my 2nd gear on my Automatic Transmission was sticking and that I needed a new transmission. I told them I did not want them to do that type of work on my car. I decided to get it checked out by an expert at Benchmark Transmission before I did any damage.I looked in the Yellow Pages and decided to call your office and get an estimate. You told me that I should bring the car in and allow you check it out at "no charge". You mentioned it could be something simple which would greatly reduce the repair cost. Last week I Brought my car in to your shop in Newark Delaware. You checked the car and found out the programming on the throttle body and the transmission where not responding. I think you relearned these components and you fixed my car. When you called me, you told me that there was no charge for the work you did to my car. As I drove my car home and felt how smoothly the transmission shifted from gear to gear: I immediately started to "thank god" for taking my car to your shop and dealing with you. As I write this note to you, I realized how rare it is to find people like you that are willing to help people in trouble without taking advantage of them and/or expecting anything in return.Sincerely yoursWilber Rivera

    Wilbur Rivera – Newark Delaware
    1/15/2013
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Dante, thank you for the wonderful service you have provided throughout the years. The transmission work you and your crew completed on our Yukon and Blazer, and Jeep. have been efficient, honest and reliable. The price has always been fair. We will continue to bring our vehicles to Benchmark Transmission and recommend you to our friends and family.

    Johnna Kriner – Hockessin Delaware
    4/14/2012
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Benchmark saved me a trip to the shrink.What I thought would be a stressful day, hundreds of dollars in repairs and a missed dinner reservation for Valentines Day turned into an amazing day.Long story short: I just began a new job in Newark. I spent all of my most eyes on moving expenses so I was low on cash. It was the day after a major snowstorm so tow trucks were arriving late and several car shops were closed or couldn't work on my car until Monday. I called Benchmark and Rich was amazing. He got my car at 12 and it was fixed by 4 p.m. I was able to get to Philadelphia and still made my dinner reservations. The cost to fix the transmission cooler lines? Free! I wish this company did general repairs because I'd go here over ANY shop! Thanks again, guys.Peter

    Peter Panepinto – Upper Darby Pennsylvania
    2/14/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I am writing to let you know how pleased I am with your company's repair and service of my 2000 Hyundai Sonata. It arrived in your auto repair shop in Newark Delaware with a defective speed sensor. Benchmark Transmission offered to repair the transaxle for a very reasonable price. The dealer replaced a sensor previously at a higher cost. The transaxle is performing like it did a few years ago, up shifts and down shifts are smooth again. Since Benchmark Transmission Newark Delaware worked on my car, I have told over 15 people how highly admired your shop's work is. Several had experience with your company or have close friends reporting the same experience. I will miss your company after moving to Oklahoma later this month.

    Mark McCauley – Newark Delaware
    3/9/2011
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I truly appreciate how well Benchmark Transmission took care of my car. They did a wonderful job and offered excellent quality. I gave me fair pricing. My car is running much better now. Thanks! Benchmark Transmission

    Ronald Barnett Jr – Delaware City Delaware
    3/22/2013
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I wanted to follow-up to the reconditioning of my transmission you did in early April of this year at Benchmark Transmission Newark Delaware. it has been a month since I picked up my vehicle post the repair and things are running smoothly. It is a comfort to know that driving my Honda CRV, with the transmission work you have done and the excellent way you've taken care of me and my vehicle,it will continue to ride well for a long time to come. I appreciate your extending the initial warranty another year, since there was a problem with the bearing in the transmission last month. Though there was a problem with the transmission malfunctioning, your customer service has always been excellent! I will be sure to recommend Benchmark Transmission to anyone I know seeking transmission service in Delaware!

    Sherri Meeks-Graham – Wilmington Delaware
    5/24/2012
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Integrity & Honesty is something that can be hard to find these days! Dante and his staff offer just that along with superb and quality service at Benchmark Transmission of Newark, DE. Having a daughter that just turned 16, we were faced not only putting her out on the roads, but finding a car that was safe and reliable for her to drive. Dante and staff were there to help us determine if our 1991 vehicle that needed a transmission was worth fixing and handing down to our daughter. Dante took the time to go over the vehicle to ensure safety and reliability. The transmission service they provided was OUTSTANDING quality and the car drives like new thanks to Benchmark. We can't thank Dante and his staff enough for being patient with us. His honesty in what needed to be done to make this car reliable enough to put our daughter in is something that we truly value. I applaud your attention to detail, outstanding customer service, reasonable pricing, honesty, integrity and quality service! We will continue to highly recommend your shop to anyone needed transmission work. James & Julie

    James Schnatterer – Newark Delaware
    8/3/2011
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I am the owner of 3 late model Ford Explorers (92, 93, 95) and a 99 Subaru Legacy. I have been dealing with Benchmark, Dante (Owner) for over 8 years. I have not alway taken the best care of my vehicles in terms of preventive maintenance, and checking into the little noises that give you that feeling that something is wrong, therefore I've experienced more problems than necessary. Despite my neglect, whenever I've taken my cars to Benchmark, I have always been treated to the best of service. Benchmark has both replaced and repaired transmissions in my vehicles, and has done wonderful work, and at a reasonable cost. I have never been dissatisfied, Dante is always willing to work with me. I have nearly 300,000 miles on one explorer, 200,000 on anther, and over 150,000 on the Legacy. Benchmark Transmission gives me the confidence that as long as I want to keep my vehicles, they will keep them running good condition. Thanks Benchmark!

    Rod Pelkey – Newark Delaware
    3/19/2009
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • You and your service team did an automatic transmission repair on my 2005 Nissan Armada in February 2010 and I wanted to send you a personal email thanking you for a job well-done. I truly appreciate the professional manner and service that you and your technicians exhibited. I just arrived home today from a 1500 mile trip to the Carolinas and the car ran great. Thanks for the great service. If I ever find the need for transmission service I will give your shop a call. Thank you.

    Charles Miller – Exton Pennsylvania
    8/20/2012
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I have dealt with Benchmark transmission in Newark Delaware for over ten years, and the crew has been no less than the best. Don and crew put pro in professional. The work is done right the first time, the warranty honored each time! My 1989 Dodge van has over 200,000 miles and this crew has taken care of us for approximately half of that.

    Thomas DelGenio – Newark Delaware
    6/23/2009
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction